Bulwell St Mary's Primary and Nursery SchoolWhere Your Journey Begins

BSM Governing Body Members

Bulwell St Mary’s Governing Body Members

As a church school we work closely with the Diocese of Southwell and the membership of our Governing Body clearly reflects this. To become a member of the Governing Body, each individual must meet certain criteria and each year we complete a range of compliance documentation, including declaring any interests we may have, any close relationships with others across the Trust, any other roles whereby there may be a direct or indirect connection, and any third party transactions.

All of which are declared on a register on interests which can be viewed in the document below:-

Membership of Governing Body ( as at September 2018)


Karen Slack - Chair of Governors

Maureen Pates - Vice Chair of Governors

Daniel Farthing - Head Teacher of Bulwell St Mary’s Primary and Nursery


Julette Clarke - Staff Governor

Emma Bell - Staff Governor

Rev Bob Stephens - Community Governor

David Maidment - Parent Governor

Jon Fordham - Transform Trust Governor

Father Andrew Fisher - Diocese Governor

Laura Fitton - Foundation Governor


We currently have two vacancies. One for a Diocesan Governor and one for Parent Governor. Please contact school if you are interested in becoming a parent governor as we would welcome a conversation with you.


Clerk to the Governing Body


Sheila Laithwaite


Our term of office is for 3 years and this starts from the date of appointment. For most it was from August 1st 2016. Our agendas follow the format of:

  • Full Governing Body meetings

  • Standards Meetings

  • Finance and Budget setting meetings


In all of the above meetings we consider the following:

  • Strategic Governance

  • Financial Governance

  • Stakeholders to include staff, parents/carers and the community and pupils.

  • Statutory Duties